Responsible Stocking Options

shivvy

Are there any threads about possible stocking options per tank size?

I am building a 60 gallon "breeder": 36" x 20" x 19" w/ the foam rock corner on 2 walls and an island.

I have a mixed pair of percs already and I am trying to brainstorm what other possible options I have.

I am fairly new to the hobby started with a 14gallon nano so I haven't been around alot of large tanks to know enough about stocking rules. I am pretty knowledgeable and my tank took off well as I keep sps successfully.

I would like a small school of anthias possibly, I always like pygmy angels. I know there are a bunch of rules to stocking versus gallons but tank dimensions and rock lay out are just as important. Like yellow tang shouldn't be kept in under 90 gallon but in a perfect rock layout and tank dimensions it could have more swimming room in a small tank.

sorry this is long...any help for fish in a 60 gallon?

A good indicator for how many fish you can keep in your tank would be your nitrate & phosphate levels. As long as they read 0 with a good test kit you are alright. If they get out of hand, then you will probably develope algae problems. :)

yeah yeah, but I would like to plan though. I am sure a couple tangs wouldn't put my nitrate levels through the roof but that would be a horrible stocking decision.

pistol/goby pair
pair of perc
some anthias
maybe a candy red hogfish
I would love a harlequin tusk

I like coral beauty and flame angelfish but they are prone to nip at stony and soft corals, but I feel like I hear of people keeping them in their reef tanks.

I also would love a blue tang and they say minimum 70 gallons but my tank would have ALOT of open swimming room with my rock layout. I would have to say an adult blue tang would be WAY to big for even a 70 gallon.