Returning to Hobby after 18 years

whiterushen

Hello-- i was in the marine hobby from 1991 to 2001. I started in 1989 first 2 years in freshwater before jumping into salt water and reefing. I had a 55 gallon Tru View reef and a 100 gallon glass. I shut my tanks down back in 2001 because i was traveling too much for a living and my tanks got neglected. Just jumped back in the hobby August 2019 with the help of my coworker Frank V who told me about this site. I'm running a 24 gallon aquatop which is now my LPS and zoa garden. I have 45 lbs of live rock that was brought back to life from dead rock. I scrubbed down the rock 3 times in salt water as it was curing. I also added a lot of old school Fluval Cycle to the tank. I also added 2000 copepods and amphipods. Today, the tank is doing very well. I also modified the stock protien skimmer and added a Eshopps nano 10-35 protein skimmer for this tank. I have a AI prime HD for this tank. My 2nd tank is a 20 gallon Innovative Nuvo Fusion. It has another 10-35 Eshopps nano skimmer along with a Hydra 26 LED light. I took out the stock filter socks and replaced with sponges---i added small bags on each side of 0.8 rox carbon, below that a bag on each side of porous ceramic small balls---then Marine pure small blocks before the return pump. This tank has 35 lbs of live rock---the tank is dedicated as my first SPS tank. I do weekly water changes in each tank of 2-3 gallons to naturally replace the elements and minerals of the ocean water. Trying my hand at running both tanks as ULNS tanks. I am dosing some amino acids and trace elements in both tanks of korallen zucht. I'm feeding my corals benereef by benepets. My 24g has 2 anthias, 1 cleaner and 1 peppermint shrimp and 1 starfish and snails. 20g has a fairy wrass and a red headed wrass. I feed both tanks once a day of a 1/2 block of brine shrimp and 1/2 block of tiny frozen copepods---letting the food thaw in a cup of water before putting into the tanks. Back in the day i was