Saying Hi

icy1155

Hello, figured I would stop in and say Hi... Im a college student down in Biddeford in the process of getting a 29 gal tank going... its not moving to fast cause of a limited budget (rent on a beach house is quite expensive :p ) but hopefully i should be able to stock it soon.

HI, glad you stopped by.
My first tank was a 29g, now I have a 30g. Not a big jump but at least I went one gallon bigger vs. smaller!.
Hope to see you around the board...and maybe at a meet!

megan

yeah, last year i had a 20 long tank but this will be my first real attempt at keeping any types of corals

Welcome!

Have fun with your tank... what type of corals are you planning to keep?

Keep an eye on this thread, you can find some great buys :)

You can also get info on upcoming SWAM events.. you just missed a tour of a GEORGOUS 300+g system in your neighborhood :(

TTYL
Denise

I was planning to go with some zooanthids, either a candycane or brain, a bubble, and a frogspawn. Im running a 55W 10k and a 55W actinic and I was told elsewhere on the forum that with that set up i should be able to handle any soft corals and LPS without to much difficulty. I would really like to try my hand at a clam but theres no way im gonna shell out the $$ for a MH right now tho.

Some clams are lower light lovers- you can actually keep one without MH- just has to be the right type, imo!

Welcome!

:D
Laurie

What type of clam do you think that i would be able to keep under my set up if i was to put it higher up on my rock so that its fairly high in the tank?

By the way... has anyone ever attempted to keep an upside down jellyfish ... I saw some of them in a tank at aquatic concepts and was wondering how difficult they are to keep... was something different so I was intersted

hmm sounds like they might be more of a pain than its worth... kinda seems like a species specific...just something that i hadnt seen before so i figured id ask