Starting a new tank need help !!

Dryliis

Hi !! i'm totally new to saltwater aquarium, and i'm fond of the Blue tang fishes, it is my dream to have a saltwater aquarium with those fish inside, but i don't know anything about how to start a saltwater aquarium, maybe you could explain how to start it ? thank you !!

also if you have any recommendation of what equipment should i buy let me know !! thank you

Tangs require large tanks and having multiple tangs in a tank can lead to aggression issues.

There is no ONE way to do things right in this hobby. So, you've given us a pretty open-ended question ;) Let's start with what size tank you have room for and we'll go from there.

Hi Dryliis, its a great hobby to get into and everyone does it a bit different. If you have a local reef store, I'd start there and ask staff for a few starter tips as well. As for blue tangs, definitely need a large system, of at least, bare minimum 150 gallon with as much swimming room as possible, ideally though 200, as they can grow quite large. Easier to maintain long run than smaller tanks, but start-up costs are going to be much more.

If you don't want to go that large, you can always look at some smaller tang options like Kole or Tomini tangs, less colorful but still a beautiful tangs in their own right!

Generally speaking equipment, make sure filtration is adequate, with a tank that size you're going to have separate sump tank with all the filtration parts (for the blue tang tank probably looking at a separate 70-100 gallon sump tank), powerheads for water movement, and if you want corals there are some great threads out their for lighting.

If you are looking for smaller scale their are some great other fish alternatives to tangs though that we'd be more than happy to share.

Hi,