Totally new to reefing (from Hong Kong!)

Reefiez

Hey everybody, Lawrence from Hong Kong here! I am totally new to the saltwater hobby. I've got 3 freshwater tanks, and have finally decided to take the scary scary plunge into the saltwater world.

I must say that the crazy amount of basic knowledge required for a reef tank is a little off-putting. But luckily I stumbled onto the BRS 52 weeks of reefing series on youtube. I must say that Ryan really does an awesome job going into good detail about every single little thing. I must say I've watched hundreds of videos on youtube, and I feel that I've at least gotten the most basic stuff down.

Here in Hong Kong, there's a street where there is literally a hundred LFS within a quarter mile stretch. I've done my research on the equipment I kinda wanted, and the US online prices, to compare with what they are charging here in Hong Kong. One advice I heard a lot of from youtube channels is to that a larger aquarium is "easier", more water = less fluctuations. I took this to heart, but also had to balance it with the cost.

While researching aquariums, it seemed that not a lot of large companies do large sized reef ready aquariums. The only one I came across was Red Sea, and specifically the Red Sea Reefer 525 XL. It is a 60x22x22.6" tank, with a display water volume of 108 gallons, and sump water volume of 31 gallons. I was considering a custom tank of around the same length and width, but 30" in height, to further increase water volume.