10 Rules for controlling flow of return pumps

JZinCO

I want to address some misconceptions about return pumps. I think they stem from our knowledge about positive displacement pumps (you know, the kinds in your heart and car). But, to my knowledge, we are all dealing with centrifugal pumps.

I'm not going to go into detail about how pumps work. I'm only a novice applicator of fluid dynamics in my job. But I will give it a shot. So here are my rules:

1) There is nothing wrong with reducing outflow with a control valve. This will reduce the work that a pump has to do. In fact, my Eheim pump has a built in gate to reduce the outflow surface area. The work a pump does is a simple function:
Horsepower= (Flow Rate x Head Height x Specific Gravity) / Pump Efficiency
Cutting the flow rate will reduce horsepower. The reason this works is due to something known as Bernoulli's equation. You can look that up if you want to know more.

2) Reducing outflow will save money by reducing work. We can modify the above equation:
Cost Per Year ($) = (0.000189 x Flow (GPM) x Height height (ft) x $Kwh x specific gravity x 8,760)/ (Pump efficiency x Motor efficiency )
Note that efficiency is a non-linear response to head height and flow. Thus, a 1/2 reduction in flow rate doesn't mean a 1/2 reduction in cost.

3) Turning your pump on or off at full throttle should be avoided if possible. It creates a shaft deflection and will wear down your pump. How many times can you do it before something breaks? No idea. But in industrial settings with big pumps, it can be a huge issue (not to mention huge changes in electrical demand loading when pumps are suddenly turned on or off while at full throttle). Back when I was a firefighter, I never understood why but they hammered into us that you never start or kill a pump at full throttle.