$120 Rasperry Pi reef controller build

daytonajim00

I hate wires and timers and clutter! I love the idea of open source. I recently discovered the Raspberry Pi and set out to build a controller for my lighting and equiptment.

The task seems daunting at first glance. But once you know the "skinny" on what's needed and understand certain aspects of a proper install, the build is pretty simple.

There are (3) main components of this Raspberry Pi relay controller:

1) Raspberry Pi
R1225826-01.jpg

2) Relay module
03_63_large.jpg

3) And receptacle to make a receptacle bank
CR015-2PW_66d6dabd-23d2-429c-be94-4e2db7ca067e_large.jpg

Excuse me if my terminology is off- I'm no expert...

For those who don't know- The Raspberry Pi is a small computer that many people use for projects like this. It has WiFi and ports to plug in a monitor, USB keyboard/mouse, etc. You use the micro SD slot to run a card loaded with the operating system and it functions much like any other common system (windows, mac, etc.) The common operating systems ran on these Pi's are open source meaning they were collectively built through a worldwide network of programmers, and are free. The SD card functions as the hard drive so after the OS is loaded, whatever space is left over on the card is used for system storage. I have a 32GB card with something like 28G's of free space on my reef controller-this project won't need massive storage so I could of used a smaller card.