400+ Gallon Reef Tank Stocking

Waltee1000

I am not that new to the hobby. I have been keeping freshwater fish since 2009 and moved to marine tanks in 2013. I currently have a 65 gallon mix reef tank since 2015. I have had my fair share of tank crashes. I have learnt a lot along the way over the years. I still feel that I have a lot to learn but I am comfortable enough to make the next big move in the hobby.

I am planning of getting a custom built 400+ gallon tank with the following dimensions 10'x3'x2'. I have prepared a stocking list. I wanted some feed back on stocking level and tank aggression based on the species choices I have made. Initially this will be a bare bottom FOWLR tank for a year. After the tank has matured enough and I have nailed the parameters into a acceptable range I will introduce Soft, LPS and SPS corals. The life stock choices I have made are based my final goal of keeping a lot of reef utility fish.

Here is the list. I will appreciate if one can suggest additions or deletions keeping reef utility in mind and having a balance of color and movement in all regions of the tank.

Tangs for algae control and beauty:
3 yellow tangs
1 Kole yellow eye tang
1 Powder blue tang
1 Hippo tang (Not keen on having but my wife and toddler daughter would love to have one)
1 Powder brown tang
2 Blue Caribbean tang
2 Sail fin tangs (one of each color/Type)
3 Purple tang
1 Scopus tang
2 Orange shoulder tang
1 Black spot tang
1 Lieutenant tang
1 Squaretail Bristletooth Tang
2 Naso tang

2 Foxface for algae control

Blenny for algae control:
2 Bicolor Blenny
2 Starry Blenny
2 Horseface Blenny

Wrasse for Pest, Parasite, Hitchhiker control:
1 Leopard Wrasse
1 McCosker's Flasher Wrasse
1 Six Line Wrasse
1 Hooded Fairy Wrasse
1 Halichoeres melanurus
1 yellow coris wrasse
1 green coris wrasse
1 Filamented Flasher Wrasse

ButterFly Fish for Tube Worm and Aiptasia control
1 Copperband Butterflyfish
1 Yellow Longnose Butterflyfish