About the Quarantine process

xLennie

Dear friends,

I hope you are well.

I have my sponge filter cycled and ready to use in a quarantine setup. I would like to ask a few questions regarding the medicated QT procedure. I am normally an observational QT guy, but saltwater is expensive, and I am fairly new, so I am not experienced enough to visually detect and apply target treatment if needed. So I guess going for a basic medicated QT routine might be a better idea for me, as I am not aware of many diseases and how their symptoms appear in the SW world to "observe".

I cannot find a good copper medicine here. Seachem's Cupramine is the only good one I had access to, and now they are out of the stock for ages. And ordering it from Amazon US is veeery pricey.

I have two products on hand. Nitrofurazone and malachite green+formaldehyde combination and both are mentioned as suitable to use for marine on the product bottle.

My Questions are as follows;
1)
What would be the QT procedure you guys would suggest based on these products?

2) Does nitrofurazone kill beneficial bacteria or stall the cycle noticably?

3) IS nitrofurazone and malachite green+formaldehyde combo is good enough to cover majority of the diseases? Is copper really neccessary? I have seen the application of Formalin, but I dont commonly see malachite green here. Is there a reason why maalchite green+formaldehyde is not a common treatment here?

4) Would using reef salt mess with formaldehyde+malachite green or nitrofurazone dose? I remember seeing BRStv suggesting not to use reef salt as it may fluctuate the doses of copper based medicine.

5) From what I know, the usage of copper based medicine should be calculated well based on the water parameters. In one tank it can be useless, in another it can be deadly. Without a checker or test, is it even safe to dose copper based medicine anyway?