Breeding Mandarins

Nick James

Here is the article which is located at:

http://en.microcosmaquariumexplorer.com/wiki/Breeding_the_Green_Mandarin

One Step Closer to Captive-Raised Mandarins

By Matthew L. Wittenrich

“The voyage of discovery lies not in finding new landscapes, but in having new eyes.” â€"Marcel Proust

Not too long after my Breeder's Guide was released, I was confronted by people asking, “Why aren’t mandarins in the book?” My answer was quite simple: I never really thought about it. In fact, I realized that I had been shunning mandarins for many years.

When I was 12 years old I set up my first marine aquarium. Determined to fill my system with bold and beautiful colors from around the world, at the local fish store my eyes were quickly drawn to, and engulfed, by fluorescent stripes and swirls of green and blue. As the bright blue pectoral fins undulated wildly against the bright orange background color and the long dorsal fin flashed high above the body, my imagination had been won over; I purchased my first mandarin, Synchiropus splendidus, (sometimes sold as the Striped or Psychedelic Mandarin).

Within days my newfound fascination was showing signs of stress as he tirelessly hunted the captive reef for prey. Days and weeks went on as he grew thinner and ever more emaciated. My most-prized fish slowly tired and died. I vowed never to purchase another.

New Hope for a Star-crossed Species

Fourteen years after purchasing my first mandarin my eyes were drawn back.

This time it took more than becoming mezmerized by one in a local pet shop. I was finally inspired by a community of dedicated aquarists who were proving that mandarinfishes could not only be maintained successfully in home aquariums, but they could also be propagated.

I had heard of various reports of German aquarists raising a few mandarins and even tracked down a copy of Wolfgang Mai’s successful journey with spotted mandarins in Coral Magazine.