Camera question.

bangai64

Hey guys... Need to figure out a way to take better pictures of corals in the tank. iPhone just doesn't cut it. Everything gets washed out. Especially under actinics. Need a camera to show what I actually see. Color wise that is. Good detail would be nice too. Any suggestions. I have no knowledge in this area at all, so any help would be appreciated. Not looking to spend a small fortune ether. Also user friendly would be nice.

IPhone pics aren't that bad with an orange gel filter. Hard part is getting it to focus sometimes.

On a camera you would either have to adjust the settings on camera or take the picture in RAW and adjust it on the PC to what you see.

IPhone pics aren't that bad with an orange gel filter. Hard part is getting it to focus sometimes.

On a camera you would either have to adjust the settings on camera or take the picture in RAW and adjust it on the PC to what you see.

Even with a camera/dslr you're better off still using a gel, unless you increase your whites while taking photos. DSLR can adjust up to 14K color temp, so there is a range where it will still look blue.

If you still wish to get a standard camera I can make a few recommendations if you put out a budget.

Any camera that allows you to set the white balance will work. The "issue" with these pictures is normal camera's where never expected to try to capture pictures with this amount of blue.
So if you can adjust white balance you basically put something "white" in the tank a few inches from the glass, anything waterproof works, I used a plastic lid that was white. then you take your camera and basically say "this is white" with whatever is in the tank at full frame. Now that the camera understands what the new "white" is all the other colors will be accurate.
I suck at pictures, i used my dads camera to prove I could take a good picture if I had too, it all worked very well once you set the white balance.