Check you refractometer

sirrealism

So I have been using this same refractometer for about 15 years or more. I cant remember the last time I checked it. I am guessing 7 or more years. I just used it and thought all is well. I had a hard time keeping high end SPS. Thought it was the LEDs so I switched back to T5s and I will admit the SPS are doing much better. I have been fighting low Mag and having to dose often which I have been through before but never knew why.

This past weekend I dropped my refractometer and could not fix it so I ordered one from amazon. Came last night and I reset it and went around and checked all 6 of my systems. Everyone was between 1022 and 1023!!! I have always kept them at 1026. Hard to keep your numbers up when you don't use enough salt. I know some keep there systems salinity low but I think its hard to keep SPS at such low numbers.

The point is take a minute and check your refractometer. Don't be a dumb *** like me. LOL

+1
I went through the exact same thing a few weeks ago. Mg, Ca and DKH all creeping low. Eventually I got some Salifert Refractocheck and hey presto my sg was way down.

And a reminder to all, don't calibrate to 0 with freshwater or your refrac will be off when trying to measure saltwater!

Another note - it's been previously mentioned to use the same light source to check as the one you calibrated with.

And a reminder to all, don't calibrate to 0 with freshwater or your refrac will be off when trying to measure saltwater!

When using for saltwater do you calibrate with a solution? Ive been doing it wrong for a lonnnggg time now I guess. With rodi freshwater to 0...

When using for saltwater do you calibrate with a solution? Ive been doing it wrong for a lonnnggg time now I guess. With rodi freshwater to 0...

I've heard plenty of things before about using rodi water as long as you know it's 0tds, although it seemed like this wasn't the preferred choice of methods, but acceptable.