Copper in a reef tank

I am seriously thinking of dosing Copper in my reef tank.

NOOOOO!!!!!!!:bounce2: IT"LL KILL EVERYTHING!

I hear you, and I understand. But this fall I started making some improvements to my tank. I use Triton testing to check for heavy metals. I had been away from SPS for a few years and would like to start adding them again. Triton detected no heavy metal problems in my tank, but several important metals were deficient: Mn, V, Zn, Ni, Mo. All I know are important to life. I have seen great improvement in my softies and LPS since dosing these elements.

BTW, I have a degree in chemistry. So I know how to make my own solutions.

I was remembering back to when I had a successful SPS tank around 2012. I used the Balling Methode Plus, (search for the website that contains "ReefDreams" in its name) which is a 3 part with added trace metals. It included all of the above plus some I am not dosing because Triton does not recommend them. But some in Germany have had great success adding the above trace elements as well as Fe, Cr, Co and Cu.

I know Randy's article on dosing iron, so I started with my own solution and have liked the results on my macroalgae.

So, reviewing old Chemistry texts, I see that Cu is biologically VERY important. According to a Reefkeeping article in 2005 seawater contains about 0.4 ppb Copper. IIRC Randy had about 10ppb Cu with no ill effects at one point. Triton says I have 0ppb. Given the LOD of 1.18-3.5 ppb. As long as I add small amounts and look for changes in the aquarium. I should be ok as long as Triton says I have 0 ppm. If they read one test with 5 ppb I would stop immediately.

So here is my thought. First run both Cuprisorb and a Polyfilter as insurance against overdose. This is like exporting nutrients and feeding the tank at the same time.