dwarf seahorses and sponge filters

bluekoi

Hello all,
I've managed to fall in love with these charming little creatures, and have gotten myself a small herd of about 14 little guys and gals.
(I did read up on them on FusedJaw and on Seahorse.org before I waded in.)
I do have a couple of questions that I need some guidance on...

One would be the maintenance of the sponge filter....
I have very little experience with these things.
When I started the tank up, I added a small amount of (I can't spell this) nitrifying bacteria to the sponge to get it started. I was concerned that if I attempted to put the sponge in one of our other tanks to collect bacteria, I may inadvertently bring in something that may harm them, as they are so delicate.
So....
How often should I be rinsing/cleaning the sponge filter? And how?
Please don't panic, I constantly vacuum the bottom of the tank (only a small splattering of sand on the bottom, mostly bare). It's almost like a mini-water change daily. So far, the tank has been (knock wood) fairly stable with this daily maintenance.

Next question - what do the baby dwarves eat? I read that they eat baby brine just like their parents. I have seen a few little ones in tank, but I have not seen any that made it very long.
Is the baby brine too big for them to eat? Should I be feeding rotifers for the babies? Will dwarves eat roties if I put them in the tank?
Or perhaps was I not feeding enough?
I feed at least twice a day. More on the weekends when I'm off from work.
I read that it should appear as though the brine are "snowing" in the tank. I try to make sure it looks like a baby brine snowglobe when I feed.
Luckily I have a great LFS (shout out to Seascape in St. Louis) who has a great live food bar and keeps me well stocked in baby brine.