Fixing leak in acrylic aquarium seam with Weld On 4?

mesopelagic

First, thank you all in advance for reading and offering any advice. I'm a PhD student on a shoestring budget without any experiences in this (thrown to the wolves...) trying to build a large, shallow tank for research, size 77 x 105 x 30cm. I had 8mm transparent acrylic cut to the dimensions I need, leaving room for the pieces to slot together (decided on the 8mm based on this: Calculate Aquarium Thickness - How THICK must the Plexiglas be?). I called the company to ask but don't know what type of acrylic it is (cast or extruded, any specifics about grade etc), just that it's Perspex. The company polished the edges before shipping to us.

After several stupid failures (I'll comment below), we tried using Weld On 4, which we were scared to use to begin with because the research animals are highly sensitive invertebrates. This is the only Weld On type easily available in the UK. Today we tried water in the bottom of the tank after letting the Weld On 4 sit for 36 hours. There are several places where the seams have bubbles all the way across, and it's possible to run your fingernail between the panes (see pictures). It obviously leaked. At this point, I'm wondering what can be done to save this. I'm out of money and paying for everything myself and honestly about to just give up.

Should I apply more Weld On 4 to the edges where there's an issue, and hope that it reseals properly? There's conflicting advice about whether this works, or if the seam will be weakened but it will work, or if it won't work at all.

Alternatively, should I get clear acrylic triangles to wedge into the seams and bond those in place to try to remake the seam? i.e. 4mm x 1000mm Clear Acrylic TRIANGLE Right-Angle Bar

imgonline-com-ua-dexifWKT1HF24J8Hg.jpg

imgonline-com-ua-dexif9r0FqVtwEXje.jpg

Comment re: all of my mistakes and how I screwed up this badly in the first place: