Help, How do I get a flat surface?

Corsec

Hello all,
I have built a stand for my 150. I used a piece of 3/4 plywood to top the stand. How do I get rid of the gaps between the bottom of my tank and the top of the stand. I have between 1/32 and 1/16 gap in places. I want this tank to be supported properly, but I don't know how to true the stand. I am new to wood working so any suggestions would be appreciated!
Thanks

I believe a lot of people use a large sheet of foam to help level the stands. But I don't know a lot about it, so hopefully soe can chime in more details.

Assuming that the stand sits well on the floor (no teeter-totter), you probably could put a temporary frame around the edges of the stand top and use a pourable leveling underlayment compound. When the compound is set you could remove the frame.

I've never tried it, but it should work for surface inconsistancies of 1/8" or less. It will be interesting to see what others have to say in this thread.

I have used shims under the plywood to level it. I always have a pack of the wood shims they sell at Lowes for installing door frames. These work good for all kinds of things. I don't like the idea of using foam although a lot of people do I guess.

Corsec,

DO NOT use shims between the stand and the tank. Doing so creates pressure points that are very likely to break the glass.

The simplest solution is to use pink insulation foam from your local home improvement store. It is cheap and compresses just enough to take up any irregularities between the tank and stand. It is easily concealed with a strip of moulding.

Adam

Thank you all for the replies. I have decided to attempt to shim the top plywood sheet. The I will install some of the thinner blue foam to take out what little inconsistencies that remain. There will not be any shims between the tank and the stand, I believe the tank itself needs to set perferctly flat all the way around. Wish me luck.