Lighting

alexacg

Wanting a challenge for my next reef project, I selected an Oceanic 144 gallon half-round aquarium. I have been keeping reefs for many years, and normally am quite comfortable in making lighting selections, but could use some advice on this one. I plan to keep SPS corals in this tank. The tank measures 57 (L) X29(W) X29(H). The water column will have a depth of 27” when operating. The tank has two main openings at the top that measure 22 7/8” (L) X 16.5” (W) separated by a 2” brace. They have MegaFlow overflows at the back of each opening that extend 6 inches from the back of the tank into the openings. I want to avoid light entering these as much as possible. That leaves two openings measuring 17” (L) X 16.5” (W) for light to enter. Along each side is another smaller opening measuring 13.5” (L) x 5” (W) where additional light can enter. There is 48” of height above the top of the aquarium to suspend lighting. I was considering two 400W HQI MH pendants and two 13 X 5 fixtures with PC’s for the sides. I realize the small PC fixtures will not provide a lot of light on the ends of the tank. Can you make a recommendation for lighting on this tank?

Tank design can be seen here http://www.oceanicsystems.com/products/half-circle.php

Thanks,
Garrett

Re: Lighting

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=14516291#post14516291 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by alexacg
I want to avoid light entering these as much as possible. That leaves two openings measuring 17” (L) X 16.5” (W) for light to enter... I was considering two 400W HQI MH pendants and two 13 X 5 fixtures with PC’s for the sides. I realize the small PC fixtures will not provide a lot of light on the ends of the tank. Can you make a recommendation for lighting on this tank?