my chaeto won't grow

Chris's Nemo

can some one please give me and idea why my chaeta won't grow in my 29 gl fuge? I have been cycling for what seems 2 months now and I run my lights on my fuge all day and cut them off in the evening when my tank lights are on. My light is a home depot light rated 5000 I think. The sucker is bright. I add a little calcium and iodine and it is no larger than when I got it from a friend of mine 2 months ago. Some one please help me because this is getting very frustrating. Thanks for the help.

Howdy, neighbor!

What all do you have in your tank, also, your recent water test params? Obviously, something is limiting growth, but it could be a lot of different possibilities - low animal load (low nutrients), a very efficient skimmer (low nutrients), a lack of iron and magnesium (Chaeto and other things use it up eventually). What is the brand and specs on the HD light? Wattage? PC Bulb, right?

What are your water test parameter's for nitrates and phosphates? Do add any iron supplements?

I only have an amonia and nitrate kit and the amonia is 0.1 and the nitrate is 0. I don't even run my skimmer and the light for my fuge is a home depot light rated like 5500. I am running 3 metal halides at 5000 k and 2 vhos super actinic. I run the main lights about 6 hours in the evenings and the fuge light about 12 hours opposite the main lights. If I leave the main lights on any longer than 6 hrs the water will get real cloudy with what I am guessing a bacterial bloom. Oh, and I only have 2 mexican snails and 2 fish, a blue damsel and a tomato clown. I also have 50 pounds of base rock and 20 pounds of fiji live rock, and 50 pounds of home depot sand with 20 pounds of live sand on top of that. Any suggestions?