New Guy

d_dog17

Whats Up Guys,

I am relatively new to the Island (Sep 08) and about 3 months into the hobby. First off, I'd like to say thanks to Wes for my lights and the link to this site. I currently have a 29 gallon tank w/ about 25-30 lbs of live rock and another 20-30 of live sand. The tank cycled pretty quikly, but I kinda thought this might happen since pretty much everything in it is natural with about 10 minutes of transit time. Amonia and nitrite has been undectable for about 2 months and nitrates stay 0-5ppm. I am still weeding out the unwanted hitch-hikers. (hairy crabs)
Livestock is:1 peppermint shrimp, 2 false percula (about 1 inch),) two spotted cardinals (about 1 inch),1 blue damsel (.5 inch), 1 small BTA seems very healthy so far, 15 assorted snails, turban, margarita and conch I believe. A few blue legged hermit crabs, and 1 electric blue hermit. I think there is a sally lightfoot crab who got a free ride also. Additionally, all the creepy crawly's that live in the sand/rock. Everything in the tank seems very healthy. I also think I have a pretty heavy load the tank for its age, but was/am prepared to do the extra maintenance. I did stagger the additions a few weeks and still check my parameters everyday.
Hardware is one 150gph powerhead, a 200 gph bio wheel filter and a berlin airlift PS. Good news is that I have a Bak Pak in the mail, should get here next week. (hopefully drop nitrates down) Lighting is 6.62w per gallon of compact flourescent.
My rocks have turned completely purple and red with coralline algae. I did notice some red hair and diatoms, but hopefully the recent addition of the margirita snails will resolve that.