New member, looking for advice on tank setup.

TDib

Hello, I am completely new to aquarium care and am interested in setting up some form of salt water tank with the main focus being a snowflake eel. I’ve done research on salt water tanks and the eel itself. From what i’ve read the snowflake eel is a relatively easy eel to take care of, but not sure if there’s something else you would recommend for a complete newby. I understand salt water reef tanks for a snowflake eel should have aquacultured rocks and corals/anemones. Any recommendations on what corals and anemones I should look into? I’m not planning on adding other fish to the tank, just a snowflake eel. I would set it up in a 75 gallon tank since that seems to be the recommended size for this eel.
Thank you for any advice and recommendations!

If your primary interest is the eel, there is no reason you have to keep corals. Only keep the corals if those interest you. There are a lot of saltwater hobbyists who keep fish only with live rock tanks (FOWLR).

Also, don’t don’t have to use aquacultured rock. You could use the dry rock that’s available form vendors such as Premium Aquatics. Dry Rock | Premium Aquatics

For what you’re planning, a 75 gallon sounds good. I would suggest a reef ready tank if that’s in your budget. Get a decent sump, return pump, heater and protein skimmer.

For lighting, if you do not plan to keep corals, you can go pretty low budget. If you do plan to keep corals, you’ll really want to research the lighting. I’ll be honest and say I don’t know much about LED lighting as I’m still using old school metal halide. But, @reefing102 seems to have a pretty good grasp on quality budget friendly LEDs.

Welcome to RC!