New to Marine

rawhideshaba

Ok starting a 120 reef tank and its my first time in the saltwater game. Plenty of freshwater experience and actually half of the equipment already.

So i want to do a MM refugium in the sump and a dsb in the dt. I know there is controvery on all ends of dsb vs shallow and MM vs both, so i figure why not do both dsb and MM. I want stability more than anything. I have 40 breeder sump or a georeef su36r sump to choose from. I believe i will use my su36r since it has all my probe holders and all of the goodies for saltwater. But that will limit my MM and chaeto room. I will be buying dry sand and getting some live from a buddy to start it. What grain size sand is best for a dsb?

I will have live rock in the display tank but i doubt i will have much in the sump so that i can maximize the room for chaeto and a small skimmer.

And should i get a detrivore kit off the internet? I will not be getting any gobies or sand sifters for this tank.

Going to run the led/t5 hybrid setup off BRS with 2 x ai prime hd's. But i am worried about all of the comments about the primes "disco effect" so will the t5 combo cut some/all of that effect out?

I want this light setup so that i can go with the corals that are more "light demanding" but i do not have a clue what type of corals i want. So with that combo i can turn the lights up or down as needed. Since SPS is the higher light demanding option is it also harder to take care of? ie: more feedings needed and all of that?

Of course i want fish but i also want the reef to be my primary concern so i will be learning and setting up my reef and basing the fish i choose on what works with my chosen coral.

Im not seeing much info on the mechanical filtration on the net though. Are filter socks the only mechanical filtration needed in saltwater? Should i run a wet/dry (tanks already setup this way) over some poly fill or go ahead and just run through filter socks?