newbie to sps

hig789

i am new to sps and i just got a monti digi to and it is neon green. i have read all the info in Aquarium Corals by Eric H. Borneman. does anyone have any more info on this coral or any web pages to view. also i feed my tank a mix of cyclopes, dt's oyster eggs, and brine shrimp9 for fish and lps). will this be good food for digi?

90gal.

flow= 2 seio 820 tunze style, gen x 1000gph return and maxi jet with nozzle cut off for wider flow on aquacontroller jr.

sump= jebo 520 skimmer with gen-x 600gph pump, refugium with liv rock and cheato and a sea pen to eat distirus.

lighting= 2 175w 20k xm's on m57 and 2 vho 50/50's on ice cap 660

parameters= cal. 450 nit. both 0 alk. 5(on sea chem test kit)
po4 0 ph 8.3

M. Digitata's are hardy, and easy to care for, speaking in terms of SPS. It's a good beginner coral. Give this one some time, see how it does. Within a month, the coral should adjust to your tank, and begin showing signs of growth. When it begins growing rapidly, you may be ready to try a second coral.

- Mac

DT's will work fine, scientists don't know if SPS will eat that stuff but zooplankton seems to be a good choice, or DT's. The flow is adequate, if it does well for you then you can try more SPS. The alkalinity could be a little higher (if you talking in terms of dKH) if it's meq/L then you're okay, even high.

The rule of thumb I use when asking myself that same question (wether animal/vegetable/mineral), is if I'm not 100% sure why I'm adding it to my tank, I don't add it.

- Mac

i test my alk with the sea chem test and i think it is meq/l. how do you convert it to dKH?

kh

kh

If it is KH your are a tad low. If you are at 5 meq/L your are high. I wouldn't be overly concerned. Here is a websight you can look at to help you balance out the values of KH and CaChemistry

<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=6995409#post6995409 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by hig789