Purchasing Lights relative to wavelength not color?

Funky_Fish14

Hello everyone!

Well, I have limited knowledge on the physics of 'light' seeing as I am only in Grade 10, however I have done fair bit of reading relating to the different aspects of light usage and ratings. My conclusion so far seems to be that it would be better to purchase lighting systems applying the correct peak wavelengths for your corals use, and then choosing the CCT(Correlated Color Temperature) relative to what you want to 'see'.

I see that typical optimal 'violet/blue light' conditions in most reefs include wavelengths of between 420-460nm. 420-440nm being in the 'violet' range, and 440-460 in the 'blue' range. I also read that some reefs seem to receive or can benefit from light wavelengths in both the 'green' (490-540nm) and 'yellow' (540-590nm) spectrums.

We purchase our bulbs relative to the 'PAR' (Photosynthetically Available Radiation) (Measured in PPFD, Photosynthetic Photon Flux Density) they seem to put out, as well as the CCT we prefer.

It seems to me what we should look at in a "good bulb" (one that would satisfy the coral's lighting needs) is not just the PPFD measurement, but also the distribution of the wavelength spectrum. Preferably a bulb maximinzing PPFD/PAR in the 420-590nm spectrum, with empasis on the 420-460nm portion. Typical reef water surface sunlight seems to peak between 450 and 600nm, which would drop through penetration of the water, thus this seems to make sense of my above conclusion.

The rest, basically the CCT, should be a matter of personal preferance/opinion on the 'color' we see produced by the bulb and how it affects our coral's coloration.

I guess this is just a bunch of babbling, but to me, this is what I will concern myself with on my next lighting purchase.

ANY input discussing any of these points would be fantastic!

Thanks for reading!

Chris