Sump Virgin- Please help designing plumbing/sump/return

BigJohnny

Hey Reefers,

I've been a sumpless reefer for 2 years now (not my choice but due to gallon restrictions imposed by landlord). Just bought a house and will be starting a new 90g DT/40g Sump build.

I have never built a sump before but have a general idea of what id like, I am just not sure how I should place the baffles to minimize issues/maximize performance.

I will be converting a 90g rr to Herbie with HOB return (or drilled if i feel brave and the back isnt tempered). The 3/4" will be full siphon and the 1" drain will be emergency (haven't decided on 100% dry or trickle yet). Then there will be a 3/4" return.

I plan on building my stand 40" tall because I am 6'4"with long arms, hate crouching all the way down to view my tank, and have determined that it is the ideal size for viewing while still maintaining ease of maintenance. I also like the idea of having all that vertical room under the stand.

Here is a sketchup of my stand. Basic 2x4 construction (based on Rocket Engineer's plans) except i am using 2x6" for the top frame just in case. The stand is tall enough that it doesn't mess with my under stand space so why not. The additional supports on the bottom are to support the 40b sump completely around the trim. I will be skinning it with 1/2" or 3/4" ply and the sump will sit on ply as well.

Let's start with Stand:

What dimensions should i actually build the top and bottom frames? Deep Blue 90g RR Corner overflow dimensions are supposedly 48"x18"x24", but i know that is not exact and it is better to have a little underhang than any overhang. Currently its 49x19 in sketchup

Return pump/Plumbing:

-What size return pump would I need? Im thinking the sicce syncra 4.0 (about 950gph) but i dont know if that is a good match for the setup/drain and return size/stand height/tank height.

-What type of plumping?
==>Schedule 40 or Schedule 80?