What Kind Of Caulerpa Is This & What Should I Do About It?

Jayhawk88

Premium Member
I'm new to the hobby. I just put live rock in my aquarium 2 1/2 weeks ago. Here is what the caulerpa looked like then.
4356308.JPG

Here is what it looks like now. It's really shot up in just the last few days since I increased the photoperiod.

43563Growing_Caulerpa_01.JPG

43563Growing_Caulerpa_02.JPG

Should I try to remove this stuff or just let it be? I'm particularly worried about the phallic looking extension that is hanging down with all the white fuzzy stuff on it. Is this what it looks like right before it "goes sexual"?

Thanks for your help.

I don't remeber the scientific name for that stuff, but it grows like crazy (I have tons of it in my refugium)

It is not going sexual in your pics, rather, it is growing. In the last of your pics, that white extension is new growth with roots beginning to shoot off. When it goes sexual, the leaves and stem get an almost translucent look to them.

So how much do you suppose I should let it grow? Would it be wise to snip that extention off and try to contain the stuff to one piece of rock?

its really your personal preference I suppose. What type of fish do you have/or are you going to add? A foxface or tang will keep most caulerpa widdled down.

That specific type of caulerpa is pretty easy to remove, unlike others, which become like vines that get strangle holds around rock.

If you ever see parts of it starting to get a translucent look to them, go ahead and start yanking it, as that is a sign of it going sexual, but from your pics, the stuff looks to be going strong

Caulerpa racemosa

Caulerpa racemosa

Hi,