130 gallon Propagation Workshop

JMFC

INTRO:
I have been keeping a salt water tank for 5 years. Its a 29 gallon mixed reef that is drilled with a 10 gallon sump/fuge below. This system is heavy on sps and i have been running out of workable room within the tank. I have been fragging the quicker growing corals for store credit at local LFS. Its proven to be worth the time, so I've chosen to expand my efforts into a propagation system.

THE PROJECT:
So we have this weird room in our basement that we have referred to as the dexter room. Its a somewhat plumbed bathroom with a sorta shower and a sink with hot and cold water. This has been where i set up my RO/DI system and made my salt and top off water. We'd love to finish our basement at some point with a 300 gallon mixed reef display that would be piped into the prop shop. But for now our focus will be on this propagation system. One regret from my 29 gallon build is not keeping a thread on reef central so i thought this would be prime time. Thanks for following along and offering insights...

Next up Gear and Assembly

Attachments

• IMG_0001_2.jpg
    IMG_0001_2.jpg
    54.9 KB · Views: 2
GEAR:
I have seen numerous people have great success with the Rubbermaid stock tanks, so i bought the 100 gallon option. For the grow out area i have ordered a 2 foot by 4 foot hydroponic tray. Lighting will be a 400watt Giesemann MegaChrome Crystal 17500k with Lumatek ballast. 2-300watt eheim heaters trying to have a somewhat redundant system. The return pump is an eheim 1048 submersible pump. For filtration I am planning on just using live rock and running gfo/gac. The dry live rock is coming from reefcleaners.

Attachments

• IMG_3681.jpg
    IMG_3681.jpg
    71.5 KB · Views: 2
ASSEMBLY: