BioCUBE 8 Initial Impressions/Observations

GobyJohnKenobi

I have been wanting to do a "Nano Cube" style reef for some time now. Pretty much since I saw a fully stocked one on display at a LFS.

I liked the size and the shape, and I was amazed by the tiny reefs that could be created and maintained in them. But on closer inspection I just couldn't get past the plastic "feel" of them. I started learning more about them and all of the mods that people were doing to improve them, and I wondered why should I spend all that money to purchase one and then spend even more money to modify it. Then the news broke about electrical and breakage problems, and that was enough to finally steer me clear of them.

But I still really liked the look and the concept. I still look at all the stocked Cubes on display for inspiration and ideas.

So now I'm six months into establishing a 15 High AGA, and Oceanic finally comes out with their version of the all-in-one Cube. I walked into one of my favorite LFS's- the one that carries all the Nice Oceanic tanks that I dream about- and he had two of the 8 gallon Biocubes on display.

On my first glance I thought, "This thing is cool- like Darth Vader Cool". :strooper:

On closer inspection, I really like the way it looks, the "feel" of it. I lift the top, and it has a much more solid feel to it. I'm impressed and that little spark of a Cube reef gets rekindled. Curious but cautious, I walk out. I call him the next day for information about pricing, and I'm told that both have them have sold already for the introductory price of $179.