calling all softie keepers! what do you dose?

cyclops23

Premium Member
just wondering what elements everyone doses their tank with. i'm going all softie. i like the soft corals alot better than the stonies anyway.:D

I'm no expert so I'm not sure if this is good advice or not, but I've had softies for over a year now and all I do is weekly 10% water changes, top off with kalk and have lots of light. I have crazy growth. Hope this helps.

Marine Snow, and Cyclop-ezze. use as directed. worked for years, but can cause algea if overdosed. sugest 1/2 amount every 3 days to begin. test water 24 hours after for results. REEF-ON!!!

I dose Lugol's solution once weekly at a rate slightly below the recommended level (too much can be very bad). I was a bit skeptical about doing it, but ever since I started, the Xenia in my tank has really taken off. The other soft corals look better than before, too, but they haven't been in the tank as long as the Xenia so I won't give credit to the Lugol's for their improvement.

I add calcium, pH buffer, and KH buffer when test results indicate I should (usually 1x per week). My calcium additive also contains magnesium and strontium, so those get dosed occasionally, also. I rely on a 10% weekly water change to take care of the rest.

I target feed the corals that I can 1 - 2 times per week with brine shrimp or mysis shrimp with a dose of Selcon food additive. I've considered a phytoplankton feeding for our toadstool and kenya trees, but our tank is relatively young and I'm hesitant about the ill effects of accidentally overdosing phyto. Perhaps in another few months or so, I'll convince myself I can handle it.

Kalkwasser for all topoff used in an auto topoff solution with redundancy ( which often gets overlooked ). Occasionally add Seachem Reef Builder for the Alk and Seachem Reef Advantage for the Calcium. Even with Kalk, tend to have to dose ALK at least once a week to keep above 7 DKH.