Coral Poachers caught, in Florida waters

returnofsid

More sever penalty than going to jail?

Alligator reef is a protected sanctuary, that is where they really screwed up! Other that that the recreational harvest of certain species of corals, inverts and tropical fish is allowed in Florida with a valid saltwater fishing license and is regulated by florida fish and game (FWC). There are bag limits and you must be able to differentiate species. Also anything harvested must be kept in a recirculation system (ie livewell). They screwed up. Regulations can be found at http://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/regulations/aquarium-species/

I am new to the hobby but have never heard that this hobby has a "bad reputation". Try commercial spearfishing in florida if you want people to think you have a bad occupation/hobby!

crazy... I didn't know you can even harvest corals in florida. They make it confusing as what to collect and where you are allowed to collect.

Alligator reef is a protected sanctuary, that is where they really screwed up! Other that that the recreational harvest of certain species of corals, inverts and tropical fish is allowed in Florida with a valid saltwater fishing license and is regulated by florida fish and game (FWC). There are bag limits and you must be able to differentiate species. Also anything harvested must be kept in a recirculation system (ie livewell). They screwed up. Regulations can be found at http://myfwc.com/fishing/saltwater/regulations/aquarium-species/

I am new to the hobby but have never heard that this hobby has a "bad reputation". Try commercial spearfishing in florida if you want people to think you have a bad occupation/hobby!

Yep, the fines and jail time are quite high for collecting in the parks and protected waters. They may be second degree but the fines are huge. They will pay dearly. The reputation thing is over blown. Most people collect in Florida the leagal way. No different then fishing.