DIY In-Wall Stand Design

Natterjak

I'm planning out a 180g I'm going to be putting in-wall in my new house, and I need some advice on how to design the stand. I've never done any framing or stand building before, so I've tried to do a lot of research, but I still have a lot of questions.

Here's a rough sketch of what I have so far (apologies it's a bit messy, I just drew it on paper):

54346DIY_Stand.jpg

The back of the tank/stand is towards the front of the drawing, and the plan is to have the back form a 6" ledge behind the tank, so the dimensions of the stand would be 72"x 30".

The top frame would be constructed of 2x6's - the reason for this is because I have holes drilled in the bottom front of my tank for a closed loop - the holes are a bit close to the front and sides, so there's not a whole lot of room for much more than one 2x6.

This top frame would sit on top of the bottom frame, made of 2x4's. I plan on using the existing wall studs for the in-wall side of the frame. The ? marks are where I'm thinking of putting additional 2x4s - would two be enough for the back side? I did plan on doubling up on the 2x6s on the top frame to compensate. (There is a missing 2x4 in the back left corner - it's drawn in as a dotted line in the back right corner.)

My questions are (other than if this design would work at all):

1. What would be the best way to connect the 2x4s forming the top and bottom frames?

2. What would be the best way to connect the 2x6 frame to the 2x4 frame? (Screws coming up from the underneath the 2x4s into the 2x6s?)

3. Should I build the stand completely, and then sheetrock around it, or is there a better way to do it?

4. What additional bracing should I have? I plan to put plywood on top, but I'd like to leave the sides as open as possible - what would be best to reinforce it to keep it from twisting, etc.?

Thanks for any help!

RobinsonFam1

1.2.)