Fish keep dying and not sure what to do...

jfeldie

I'm a novice with a 100 gallon salt water tank. I actually use a local guy(self taught hobbyist) to take care of my tank. But with all the lost fish, I wonder if something is being missed and I don't know enough to figure it out on my own or where I should even start. I've lost 4 fish since August and I'm in the process of losing a fourth. Except for one, they all exhibited the same behavior...stopped swimming, just hang out in one place in the tank and sometimes come out to eat. They usually last a few days in this state before passing away...I had a Desjardin's Sailfin who died suddenly. My husband thinks he ran into a rock and knocked himself out but he never revived (added to tank 6/10/21, died 8/18/22). My Blue Hippo Tang was the next to go (added to tank 8/22/20, died 9/12/22). My Yellow Tang died a month later (added to tank 9/22/20, died 10/23/22). A Blue Damsel fish also died (added to tank 7/26/20, died 11/17/22). And now my Neon Puffer is showing the same signs and I'm guessing I will be losing him in a few days (added to the tank 6/8/22). Other than the change in behavior, they look healthy...nothing on their bodies to indicate a disease. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. The guy who helps with the tank isn't sure what's going either. Thank you for any help/suggestions...

Last edited:
So, I grabbed a test kit and checked my water. As I mentioned in my original post, I know nothing. I have someone who takes care of my tank but there doesn't seem to be a good explanation as to what is happening in my tank.
My test results have no baseline and my Nitrates were at the highest level so I'm going to test them again.
Ammonia - 0 ppm
Nitrate - 160 ppm
Nitrite - 0 ppm
pH - 8.0
Alkalinity - my test kit didn't have a tester for this one.