Great article, but question

dous

Hi Steven. Awesome article and very helpful, but I have a 55gal without sump and wanted to start a QT/hospital tank. I have a baby blue hippo (1.5 inch) that I (ignorantly) put in there while I design my 300gal custom tank due next year. Now he has early signs of ich and is rubbing his skin against rocks. Now I know I have to quarantine all the other fish except my shrimps.

I'm thinking 20-30 gal. you also said to put a sponge filter in there. How does this work? Do I just drop the sponge filter at the bottom of the tank? (I'm new to this so please don't laugh) Or do I need a skimmer in the tank as well?

From what I understand, I need a tank with my display water in there. I have a powerhead and heater I can run in as well. Put a few different sized PVC tubes in. As far as the sponge filter, I'm confused as how it should go in. Should it be hooked up to the powerhead? I have a Fluval 101 with awhite filter I can put in my HOB skimmer return box.

Please shed a light. Sorry for the long post.

Sponge filters are generally operated by small air pumps. If you have a Fluval that has been running for a while, I would use that. The key is using a filter that has some biological capacity (ie somewhere beneficial bacteria can grow), but it also needs to have been running to be colonized by that bacteria.

Thanks for your reply. I now bought a sponge filter and put it in my main display tank (no sump) to absorb bacteria.. How long should I keep this in for the bacteria to take foothold?