Green Star Polyp Being Eaten By Worms? Flow Issue? Help!

Emmettdogg

Hello, My name is Emmett, and I am new to the hobby as well as this is my first forum post... Ever.... :wavehand:
Currently I have a 4 month old 10 gallon nano aquarium (I have gotten the "That's not going to work out for you" Speech more times then I would like) with a hang on the back filter and a bag of Chemi-Pure Elite inside helping to keep Phosphates down. I have a terrible 48 led light, use a 40 gallon rated heater, and I do a 10% water change every week with Distilled water.

Oh yeah, I also don't have a power head. :facepalm:

A few months back I purchased a small colony of greenstarpolyp, and they were doing great for about 2 months until about a month ago the colony closed up completely. Reading about this normally being a behavior of gsp, I let them sit for about 2 weeks until recently where I brought them under closer inspection to find clear long worms had created a crystal like tube and were entering in and out of it partially. (Multiple at time photo was taken)

Unsure if they had anything to do with the polyp closure, I dipped the coral in Bayer following a guide I found on the internet with 1.5 ml per oz. Nothing happened. When I dipped the coral, I broke the tube to find it having regrown even bigger over night.

Waiting another 2 weeks until now, they are still closed up and are looking somewhat wrinkly rather then the smooth purple they were before. :headwalls:

So I fragged off a large part that was further away from the worm and had grown in the time after I had purchased it. I put this part about 5 inches away on a flatter rock in my tank, and moved the now 2 frags away from the area where they were once prosperous on the sand afraid that perhaps these long clear skinny worms could potentially be hiding in the sand.

However, I do see an occasional single polyp open however, the tips of what was a bright green starred hand is partially black or even gone. (Worms eating it?)