Help!

yfredericks

I am completely new to this hobby. I inherited a 55 gal tank with saltwater equipment and chemicals. I dont know what most of the equipment is for, or how to go about setting it up. The tank currently has no water and i have been told that it has be dry for a couple of years. Can someone please help me.? I really want to get it set up, but I also dont want to screw it up. I have always wanted a saltwater tank and really want to do this correctly.

Welcome to ReefCentral!
First thing to do I guess will be to identify the equipment you have. Try and look for the brand names or even take some pics of what you've got. You can upload photos into your gallery and post them in threads. Once we figure out what you have then we can go from there.

equipment update

equipment update

ok, i am putting pictures up, but here is the labels i have been able to find.

1.Regent Aqua-tech 3ph...looks like some kind of miniature filter
2. AquaClear 500 filter
3. about 25 feet of hose with green connectors of some sort.
4. there are 2 long air stones that go acroos the intire width of the back
5 a long heater that most of the writing has rubbed off.
6. what appears to be crushed rock/coral?
7. 1 gallon of stress coat w/ aloe vera
8. 3.4 a box of Fluval peat granular, but i dont see the system that it goes into anywhere.

I am really beginning to wonder if they were trying to use stuff that was made for freshwater for a saltwater tank. Will I be able to use any of this stuff or do I need to start from scratch?

I have put photos in my gallery

Sounds to me like it was for Fresh.....though u can easily, though sometimes Expensively turn it into salt.... if you don't have much fish experience, i suggest Fresh..., probly African Cichlids would be your safest bet.

You have a Python Siphon which is the Tubes with the green things attached..

crushed coral is the gravel, used (sometimes*) in SW and FW tanks, maintains high pH in Fresh about 8.0, Salt around 8.2,