High Magnesium Demand

kidA

I am new to this incredibly addicting hobbie, but have found these forums extremely useful. The current item that is baffling me and not seen many posts on, is high magnesium demand. & no need to tell me its the low Mg from my salt mix, I've checked, it is not that. LFS did tell me this is possible, but baffled still since I do not think I've seen one posting of anyone requiring this much Mg, and a lot of folks have even larger tanks/much more population than I have.

Current Mg consumption/drop per day = 35 ppm; or in other words have to dose 280 mL/day of the BRS chloride/sulfate solution to keep up with it. It is actually a bit more than that (~50 ppm) but when I do my water change I wait 2 days before the last dose i.e. 1300, then water change takes me back to 1400. I use the red sea test kit and seems very accurate and consistent. I've tested numerous times between water changes as well (i.e. 3 day intervals to track, and every time it is almost exactly the same results) I do not need to add any calcium, water changes keep it at the high end levels. I add very minor alk (60 ml/week) to bump it back up from low 8 to 9.

Inherited my tank, was in very bad shape. Lost most the population from poorly maintained water quality and a couple more from the shock changing the live sand/water/transfer. Some of the LR was also scrubbed before putting back in due to the large algae growth, saw a diatom bloom near the beginning so know it was cycling. Its been about 1.5 months and things are looking much healthier. Added a small SPS frag just to get a good sense of how my overall water quality is since I've heard those are tough to keep alive, and it looks just as healthy/happy as the day I bought it (2 weeks ago).

Tank stats:
120 Gal
10 gal water changes weekly
Change filter sock every 2 days
SWC 160 skimmer/atman ph2500 pump / vortech mp40 / rio20hf return
SG ~ 1.025-1.026
Alk ~ 9
Ca ~ 490
Mg ~ 1400 (maintaining at)