I am brand new to Saltwater, buying a 180 that is currently running.

DCapps

Hello All,
Funny enough I own and operate a business called Reefer Rescue, but it has nothing to do with Reef Keeping HA! I was pretty surprised to hear the term "Reefer" as in a Reef Tank Hobbiest, I may be jumping in too fast, I have never run a saltwater tank. I have run several African Cichlid tanks over the years, and have recently been interested in starting up a Reef Tank. I found a setup that is up and running at a business that is going out of business this coming week. The tank is 180 gallons, and looks like it has clearly been neglected for some time. I am planning on going this weekend to tear down the tank and hoping I can get some pointers. As of now from what we saw when we went to look at it, there us a porcupine puffer, a wrasse, a trigger, and a baseball sized hermit crab that are currently in tank. My plan is to re home them to a local fish store.
My question comes with what to do with the rock and corals?
Can I re use the rock if I clean the algae off of it?
I plan on getting rid of the sand.
The corals If that is what they are are not the most attractive, so not sure if i want to keep those either.
My plan so far is to shut system off, remove filter components and all other components and box them up, drain water into big plastic tubs, remove the rock and put into the tubs, collect fish and crab and whatever else is living in there and put in another tub to go to the fish store, discard sand and nasty water. scrape and clean glass of the buildup. If I'm not keeping the fish I imagine there is no massive rush to set tank up and get it running in a time crunch. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_9536.jpg
IMG_9537.jpg
IMG_9538.jpg
IMG_9539.jpg
IMG_9540.jpg
IMG_9541.jpg

Welcome, we have a lot of very experienced reefers here. I’ve been in the hobby since the early/mid 80’s and there’s quite a few who have been in it longer than me.