I'm new to the hobby and my tank crashed help please.

I think most of us have felt some of the wife pressure at some point "we should get one of those fish, they are really pretty" and wanting to keep them happy about the hobby go ahead and get the fish. Sometimes it's fine, and other times maybe not the best choice. It was like that with me and my wife when I was getting into the hobby, but I've talked with her about water chemistry, and fish stocking, and fish compatability and she's become aware enough to know not to push me to get someting, but now if she likes something, she will ask if one would go well in my tank and understands if I say it will nip at coral, or grow too big, or bully other fish...etc. Early in the hobby, she was noticibly annoyed when I shot down her ideas, but now understands that some research needs done before any particular fish or coral is added to the tank and makes the hobby less stressful for us both. My sugestion, which it seems like you already have, would to be to get your wife a little involved in the hobby as well so she is more understanding when things are alot of work or cant get the things you want. My wife doesn't do any maintanance,and only occasionally feeds my fish or cleans the glass, but nothing more. She still is aware there are constraints though and is involved enough with the tank that she enjoys the hobby as well. I often involve her when I pick out new coral or fish and ask her opionion if she likes something I already researched, or likes how coral looks where I put it...etc. Has worked well for us and we both have enjoyed my tanks for years.