My first try at reefing, 55Gal Tank, lots of questions from a newb :)

Nataliek2270

Hello everyone! I have been reading posts on here for a while now, and I have to say that everyone's pictures and posts have definitely encouraged me to get back into saltwater :)

I have recently met someone who has a huge variety of used tanks/stands/sumps/skimmers/filters/etc., but it is definitely overwhelming with all of these decisions I have to make, Does anyone mind giving me some advice on a few things? Here are my questions:

I am getting a 55 gallon, I have never used a sump before, but I believe it's the way to go when you count all of the pro's and cons of hang on filters to sump systems. I have 2 choices for a sump, has anyone used either of these or have any advice which is better?
-new sealife system model 100 wet/dry
-pro clear aquatics model 75 wet/dry

Next, which skimmer should I use with this sump?
-red sea prism hang on tank skimmer
-pro clear aquatics skimmer with rio 800

Should I use a filter with a sump and skimmer? A sump is going to be my filter correct? I had used a hang on filter with my FOWLR tank I "inherited" when a friend could no longer take care of it. The tank came with it and a skimmer so I have never had to purchase my own filters/skimmers before.

I have a 36'' 192watt CurrantUsa Orbit light, is 192watt enough for montis? I know soft corals will do well, but I want to try some easy sps and maybe a frogspawn.

Lastly, questions about live rock and sand. Where can I get some really good live rock? Has anyone ever tried to make their own rock and seed it? I read an article from GARF & about.com and it really interested me because of the control I would have with the aquascaping. Here is the link:

http://saltaquarium.about.com/gi/dy...arium&zu=http://www.athiel.com/lib3/arago.htm

Also, if I had live rocks, could I just use an aquarium safe type of sand on the bottom and it would eventually become live sand?