My "rushed" sps build

jordans_reef

Before we begin i would just like to say writing is not my strong suit, so get ready for an eclectic story.

So ive been reefing for about 5 years now and started with a 40 gallon bow front, then upgraded to a 125 oceanic and then finally to a 280 custom. As i upgraded over the years i always transfered all my fish, rock, coral and as you may guess all the mistakes ive made along the way. I had a successful tank packed with sps and alot of odd ball fish including 2 adult morays and a humu trigger. But the stock and all the pests that had accumulated took its toll on everything when i didnt have the time for the major upkeep this system required. So when i started lossing sps colonies from aipstasia , nutrients and god knows what other pests i decided it was time to start from scratch.

So i wanted a "easy to keep" barebottom sps dominated reef with a medium bioload and mostly peaceful fish. Below is my journey to hopefully success.

After i sold all the remaining livestock i drained the tank and began cleaning my live rock. I decided that a bleach bath for a week should kill anything pest related, i then cured in ro for another week. During this time i figured out how to make my tank as maintenance free as possible and decided to setup autowater changes and a water change station. Luckily my wife has let me dedicate a portion of our basement as a fishroom, so i have plenty of room for setting up virtually anything.

Upstairs 72x30x30 display
4x mp40
2x jebao rw8s
1x jebao rw15
1- sunpole return pump blasting the bottom with flow

72" Aqautic life t5ho c/w 5 kessil a360we and 2x reefbreeder uv bars (60")

Downstairs in the sump 60x24x24
2- curve 9 dc+ skimmers
Geo 818 reactor (not running currently)
Jebao 15000 return pump
Pentair 40w uv (debating if i will run this again)
Smartaqua awc system
Apex el to run everything