Need expert chemist input, SPS irritated when I raise alk above 6.5 dkh??????

jlinzmaier

Premium Member
I first posed this question in the SPS forum but we went through all the logical thoughts and decided to have you chemistry experts take a crack at it. I'm goign to provide a lot of detail here to try to answer basic questions and provide as much info about my system as I can. Here's the deal:

I've been battling this silly problem for about two years now. If/when I try to raise my alk past 6.5 dkh I seem to seriously irritate my SPS. I get a definitive lack of polyp extension followed by STN throughout areas of the entire corals tissue (not just the base or the tips - tissue begins to recess at all areas of the corals skeleton). My tanks chemistry is very stable except for when I try to adjust alk up or down.

It just makes absolutely no sense to me. I can change absolutely nothing for weeks and things will be fine (with the exception of what I think is relatively slow SPS growth and all but a complete lack of corraline algae growth). As soon as I try increasing the alk level I get complete lack of polyp ext (day and night) and many sps (monti's, acro's, and stylo's) start to develop STN at various areas (base, tips, and throughout the body of the coral). The more I raise the alk the more tissue loss develops and the faster it occurs.

I always make any adjustments very slowly (never more than 0.5 dkh spaced over a 24 hr period and never more than a 1dkh shift in a week. I've tried raising alk by dosing a bit more kalk over several weeks time and still had trouble. I thought maybe the increase in pH was irritating the corals. I then backed it down let the tank recover for about 2 months then I tried raising alk by increasing my ca reactor effluent rate. Once I hit 7 or higher it all goes downhill. I also tried raising alk with soda ash from BRS and got the same effect.