Need some help with algae!!!

fsu

Premium Member
Hi, I am relatively new with saltwater tanks, with the exception of fish. I am slowly building up my tank, and am having a terrible time with any kind of algae. I have some red grape now, that looks doomed. Also, I am wondering if there is any kind I can put directly in the tank for decoration, that will not go sexual, I guess? Does this not pollute the water? Any advice would help, and thanks in advance!

Chaeto doesnt go sexual, but it can block light below it.

do you have a sump or anything that you can stick the algae in? Or are you focused on having it for decoration?

BTW...great name :)

I would prefer to have it in my tank. I have a sump on my filter, but again, not sure how to set that up for any algae!
Yes it is a GREAT name. Thanks! I am a loyal and devoted Nole fan!!! :D

BTW, the red grape is losing bulbs and turning slightly brownish in some places! Any ideas?

I wud only put halameda in my own tank (and have done so) I have gracilaria and spaghetti in the sump and Grape in a separate prison where no one can escape!!!!

Go Noles!!

I will take some of it off ur hands!!! Just starting up a 125 fuge and will be needin some. Swap u a nice flower anemone.

We will have played Miami 3 times in a 12 month period!! The networks have too much influence in the bowl bids!!!:mad2:

I have a number of Keys species doing well.
Generally you need to have enough nutrients for these planmts to do well, many reefs might be too "lean" to get good growth or they might support peroids of good growth, then run out of nutrients that were present, then the plants melt.

Yes, they suck Ca, (perhaps) much faster than Coral.
You can add macros to the refuge easy by adding a light back there. But iof your tank is already too lean, that will just have macro's removing nutrients from macro's in the tank.
That's fine if... you have a lot of nutrients that you need to remove.