New to the hobby here...

baneq

Hello everyone,
Im new to the island and new the aquarium world. I just got my tank setup and need some pointers on how to keep it runnin smooth. Heres my setup right now,
55gal tank w/ bio wheel, (yea the one from the bx)
prizm protein skimmer
1 air stone and a bubble strip thingamajig
5 pieces of what i was told is live rock
4inch substrate of sand, gravel and a bit of crushed coral
i then put 2 damsels in it and sadly they died.

could someone tell me what im doin right/wrong, im trying to read everthing I can get my hands on so I know I need to monitor the ph, salinity, nitrates, nitrite and ammonia, but I cant find a test kit and the store I went to (Pet Box), has everthing in japanese (go figure).

also, I didnt purify the water before I put it in, I was toying with the idea of getting a RO filter but I used that safe tap water stuff instead, is the water here ok to use?

any help or guidance you guys could lend would be well appreciated. Hopefully if this goes well I can harass you guys for information more often :D

thanks

you on base or off? get rid of the bubble strip thing.. where is your air stone at? if you have it in the tank, take it out. Im not familiar with the prizm protein skimmer... is it a hang on? you dont need the bio wheel either.. And dont put any more animals or coral in untill we can get you strait..

You can order any test kits you want from marinedepot.com I also use bluezooaquatics.com

what you useing for lighting? how big is your stand, if you have one? Any pics? might give us a better idea of what your working with.. :) Your more than welcome to swing by my place and check out my set up and we can discuss what you need and dont need..

And welcome to Okinawa!!