New York Aquarium

Paul B

Premium Member
I went to the New York Aquarium as their guest this morning well before it opened for the day. I spent 2 hours climbing over their filter systems and checking out their lighting. The supervisor, Mike showed me everything behind the scenes and I had a really good time. They are having some problems with some LEDs over their fresh water tanks and being I am a retired electrician I was going over some problems with them. They invited me back when ever I want to go to discuss some more things.

As far as I can tell the coral tanks look beautiful. I didn't go to the smaller tanks because we were mostly in the back but the larger coral tanks are in great shape.

All of their corals are cultivated from their stock and they do not take any from the sea any longer. They have a large frag tank. Natural sea water is used in their tanks from right outside the aquarium in Coney Island. I have always said that water is about as good as it can get. They have to add some salt to it because Coney Island is in the center of where two rivers enter the bay so the water is weak. They run the water through sand filters to remove sediment.

They also use UV and ozone in their tanks as well as calcium reactors.

The UV is only used in the fresh water tanks (I think)

They have some large skimmers and I discussed ways to make them much more efficient.

I did not see one majano or aiptasia, probably because the large coral tanks have a number of fish that would eat them, as I said I didn't see the smaller tanks.

One of their tomato clownfish is 15 years old and it looked like it was mating with a fireclown.

They get divers into the tanks a few times a week to clean the artificial corals and the inside of the glass. The largest "coral" tank there used to house beluga whales, now it is for coral reef fish, but with artificial corals and rocks. Very realistic looking without the maintenance and lighting of live corals.