Refugium question

jtinoco

First of all, this forum is awesome! As you can see on my join date, I haven't been part of RC for a long time. I was at El Mar for a while and decided to be a bit more active when the logo thing came up. I was somewhat dissappointed when things went sour so I gave up on it. This new forum seems very welcoming. Now with my question. :)

I'm new to the hobby; sorry if I don't use all the appropriate or correct terms. I took on the task of making a DIY refugium last night. I got a 20 gallon long tank and some pieces of plexiglass. I couldn't find a silicon that was aquarium safe at Lowes so I ended up buying the expensive silicon from the petstore. I did one over and under over flow/partition on one side and one single over flow on the other end. The tanks dimensions are 30"X12"X12". The over and under partition is only about 6 inches from the bottom up then goes under and back up and over another 6 inch overflow. Is this too short or should they be taller? I kinda noticed it after I had already siliconed everything. The over flows reach half way up the tank. Is there a rule of thumb when it comes to this?

The refugium is divided in three sections total. One section where the water drops then the middle section to hold live rock and some chaeto. The last section is for the return pump and skimmer. I'm posting from my phone so I can't post pics sorry.

Sounds like you are off to a good start. There is nothing wrong with where you have placed the baffles, except that it is limiting your water capacity. You want your refugium to hold as much water as possible. On my refugium I have the top of the baffles placed approximately 4 inches from the top of the tank. This allows the tank to hold all the water in my overflow if the return pump was to fail, prevents water from overflowing out of the sump and onto the floor.