serpent star reproduction

teog

any ones serpent stars reproduce in their tanks? I have two that are constinatly on each other. They are either mating or fighting.

Thanks

Hi Teog,
it's very very rare if at all that they will bred in your tank. I have two in my tank for a number of years. The only time they come in contact is for fighting over food or if one has an injury. I'm far from an expert on these guys ...maybe if Ophiuriod is out there he can give you a more detailed answer. He helped me with my serpant question awhile back.

Mike

Hey Mike! How are you doing!? (PS I'm a 'she' :D :D)

Teog,
Your brittlestars are not likely to be exchanging anything. For one, the genital openings are both on the oral surface...so unless they are kissing mouth to mouth, there is not much going on. There are certainly species that do this, but not likely those in the hobby. Here is a shot of such a case (the male is smaller and is attached to the female):

dimorph.gif

Most brittlestars are broadcast spawners, releasing eggs and sperm into the water column. Fertilization is external; the larvae are extremely delicate and would not survive in our tanks. Also, various environmental cues are typically required to encourage spawning. Researchers often have to go to some extremes to encourage spawning in brittlestars (unlike sea urchins which seem to spawn all the time!).

There are exceptions, and they are found in our tanks. The tiny white Amphipholis is quite common in tanks and is a self fertilizing hermaphrodite that broods its young. The striped species often reproduces through asexual splitting- fission (it typically has 6 arms).