Subway Cars to Reefs

Wow. I don't know what to think about this one. It feels like contamination regardless of the fact that they end up covered in corals.

Then again, I'm no expert in the matter and I'm not about to dump a subway car into my tank. Not even a toy one.

wow. I don't know what to think about this one. It feels like contamination regardless of the fact that they end up covered in corals.

Then again, i'm no expert in the matter and i'm not about to dump a subway car into my tank. Not even a toy one.

+1

I wish our government would do more of this. Literally line the coastal waters with concrete, ships, tanks, etc. It's the perfect solution for man to help marine life and expand the ecosystem of reefs to areas where they simply aren't present because there is no structure.

They've proven time and again to be very successful, yet often because there is so few they get over fished rather quickly.

I wish our government would do more of this. Literally line the coastal waters with concrete, ships, tanks, etc. It's the perfect solution for man to help marine life and expand the ecosystem of reefs to areas where they simply aren't present because there is no structure.

They've proven time and again to be very successful, yet often because there is so few they get over fished rather quickly.

I agree...we need more of them. Also it doesn't hurt to have a few more fishing numbers to run to lol

This is great. At Clearwater pass there's a peice of land where the county stacks up a bunch large concrete pipes etc.. That they use for artificial reefs. I've even seen whole airplanes there. Great article.

Artificial reefs are absolutely packed with fish and covered with life of all kinds. From giant grouper to bait clouds that block out the sun, they all are attracted to these piles.

We have a great network of "artis" offshore of tampa bay and some of the biggest and most fish i have ever seen were in and around them.