Tap water for fish-only tank?

plancton

Hello, I'm planning to set up 75 gal fish only tank. I have plenty of experience with reef tanks but I want to keep costs at the low now.

For that reason I'm planning of using tap water removing chlorine. I'm sure the probably fosfates and silicates will be high but I'm only planning to keep Dry rock and natural sand from the beach as well as fish.

For lighting, I'm planning to use something like this:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/20-30-40-50...hash=item542c6404a2:m:mtRFblM_fiTErusNeSF3PYw

It is only for the fish's colors to pop out, the lamp is dirty cheap and has 5 watts maximum, that means this light is not very intense and that's a good thing because since I want to use tap water then I wouldn't want to have algae problems.

Can I keep healthy fish and algae-free like this?

Being that a lot of people have set up and maintained beautiful reef tanks for years on end with the use of tap water it's definitely possible. Having a light such as that will definitely help keep the algae to a minimum too IMO. Good luck!

Dechlorinated tap water can work if you're looking for the lowest maintenance. How reliable is your water source? Were you ever able to use it on your reefs?

Dechlorinated tap water can work if you're looking for the lowest maintenance. How reliable is your water source? Were you ever able to use it on your reefs?

Hello, no, I'm in another location now and I never used tap water for my reef, I did have a planted aquarium once and tried tap water and it was impossible because it would generate lots of algae, but of course, the difference was that I was using intense lighting for the plants, and yes, that was the main problem with using tap water but other than that I don't see how it could affect as long as I use low intensity lights.