TBS for newbie?

catdoc

Premium Member
Just getting started at this. At this point, taking it slowly and I've had the tank filled with sand + live sand for culture for about a week. (It's a 90 gallon, btw) Now, seeing all of the amazing pics of TBS rock, I'm thinking I want to go that route. The rock is amazing, but I'm worried that as a newbie, I may not be ready for all of that diversity! LOL! My original plan had been to just start up the sand bed and add some live rock, then give it a couple of months while I got the hang of the water chemistry. Our LFS live rock looks so barren now! Is it a bad idea if I go with the TBS package while I'm so new to this? I would hate to kill off my critters as I learn.

Thanks,
Christy

(a) Get a few books to supplement your internet research
(b) Do your research & planning
(c) Get your equipment set up (actually, all you really need is lights, skimmer, & 'vigorous' circulation)
(d) Go for it! The TBS stuff is 'instant reef.' Just add (salt) water :D
(e) That said, go for it, but be patient (e.g. don't test the water every 5 minutes to try to chase your chemistry down). A hitchhiking snail won't starve if you don't feed it; a hitchhiking fish (has been known to happen) won't starve ditto; etc. If your pH looks low (8.0 instead of 8.2), don't try to bring it to 8.2 in one shot, but rather, plan on going to 8.1, then, 8.2. The only chemistry you really want to keep nailed is the ammonia/nitrites/nitrates; you do that by water changes. (Oh, and the temperature and salinity, don't forget that).
(f) Don't forget a helper to help unload boxes from the airport

Richard & Mary are typically the ones who pick up the phone; Richard's the e-mail maniac. They are all cool & helpful, over the phone or via e-mail. You can't go wrong. :)