Totally Foam - Rock Wall...

mmittlesteadt

I'm making a foam rock wall to cover the overflow and return fittings on my 40 gallon breeder, but I only wanted it to be very slight and not to be made of any rock. I will have plenty of rock in the 40G DT as well as my 65 gallon sump in my basement. This "rock" wall is for decorative/camouflage purposes only.

You can read about my build here.

Anyway, for a little background, I am a professional artist specializing in murals and dioramas, mostly for museums and I create all kinds of exhibits utilizing a wide variety of materials. While this is my first serious attempt at reef keeping, I've been making artificial habitats for my freshwater aquariums for over 35 years. I've read every single thread on RC related to artificial rock walls, and I decided to make this for my tank. Below is the making of this wall for anyone interested...

Well, my bulkheads are installed, overflow is siliconed in place and this is the start of my arch wall that will hide my overflow and the return.

Crappy pic of the overflow and bulkheads...

overflow.jpg

Couple of shots of the layout of the styrofoam. Almost all of this will be carved away, so it looks WAY thicker and bigger than it will end up being. Most of it will be thinner that even the single layer, but I wanted to start with it large and carve ledges and overhangs in the right places. I will also be cutting out a huge chunk for the cave (where it's X'd out on the styro in marker). And of course, one the left, I will cut down the artificial rock wall below the overflow's top so it does not interfere with water flow and no animals will crawl into it.

Very little of this styro will remain. Most of it will end up being carved away. And no, the pipe sticking out will not be there...it is only a placeholder for where the return will come out under the fake rockwork.

The whole thing will be covered in black pond foam after it's carved out.

arch1.jpg

arch2.jpg