Worried about my bta

J0E

Hello all. I'm new to reefing. 5 months in. I'm worried about my bta. After getting it, it was thriving. But over the last 3 weeks or so, it isn't expanding like it was, and it's not extending it's tenticles. I haven't seen it mouth open or anything, nor has it moved since it settled in its original location. I have a16 gal biocube. I feed mysis shrimp and recently purchased fritz coral max. This is when i got it in February.
1000001654.jpg

Over the last 3 weeks is been like this. That's a far it's teticles extend.
1000002677.jpg

1000002750.jpg

1000002688.jpg

Shriveled up a lot.

1000002685.jpg

Last set of tests. I just switch my salt to RPM redline. Lights running from 12-8 including ramp up- down, and blues. Water changes every 2 weeks. Also, I have 2 clowns, but they don't host it. Thanks for the help.

And is I was writing this post last night, it moved to a new location this morning.

Welcome to RC!

It does look like it’s declining. It looks like your Ph is a little low and same with your phosphate. Here are the generally recommended parameters:

IMG_0094.jpeg

With that said, the tank is a bit new for an anemone in my opinion as the first year or so is usually when parameters are a bit less stable.

Also I’m curious if the paint from the painted shells may be leaching something into the water. While it may not affect fish, inverts are generally more sensitive to water chemistry.

Yes, the anemone does look to be declining. Anemones can be difficult to maintain, especially for people newer to the hobby and newer tanks. We generally recommend people new to the hobby not add more challenging inverts, corals and (especially) anemones in the first year. This give you the opportunity to get your parameters stable and learn about keeping reef tanks.

Agree, phosphate and pH are a bit low.